IEC Smart Grid Standards Mapping Tool

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the IEC

The IEC is a not-for-profit organization that brings together 165 countries and offers a global platform to over 13 000 experts from industry, governments and user-groups. These experts sit together, define and agree on the rules, specifications, measurement methodologies and testing requirements that are needed to do business in the global market. They develop International Standards that cover all aspects of safety, interoperability, efficiency, electromagnetic compatibility and environmental impact. The IEC’s fundamental mission is to make electrotechnology work for industries and countries throughout the world. Beyond the Smart Grid, the IEC is also deeply involved in improving the efficiency, safety and performance of all devices and systems that contain electronics and generate, use, distribute or store electricity.

Smart Grid Standards Mapping Tool 

IEC has created a free Smart Grid Standards Mapping Tool to assist in choosing between various standards useful in building the smart grids. Generation, Transmission, Distribution, DER, Consumption, Communication, Crosscutting, Market operations, Process, Station, Field, and Enterprise views are covered under this tool. The tool lists not just IEC standards, but those from other organizations as well. Link- With this tool you are able to identify any given standard in relation to its role within the Smart Grid. New standards are added regularly. iec_tool

You have been working on which set of the standards?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

How to find the right standard using the tool

Overall, the Smart Grid Standards Mapping Tool defines relationships between components and standards of the Smart Grid. There are multiple paths to finding the Smart Grid standard you need.

  1. Architecture View The Smart Grid Architecture View provides a pictorial overview of the grid. It includes clusters that form the generic Smart Grid landscape. Components of the grid are located in topological communities grouped into systems, or so-called “functional clusters”.
    • Clicking on a component inside a cluster opens a new view that provides a drop-down list of standards that apply to that component. If you would like the drop-down to stay open, double-click inside the component frame. To close the drop-down list, click on the “x”on the right top corner. Note: if you would like to open more than one list of component standards you can “drag” open lists out of the way.
    • If you mouse-over a standard, you will see a description of the scope of the standard
    • You can also utilize the drop down menus to itemize the Systems, and also “reverse-map” to find known standards and related components
    • If you click on a yellow dot you can directly view use cases
  2. Mapping View If you open the Mapping View tab you see on the left site a Components/Cluster view and on the right side a Standards view
    • Component/Cluster (left hand side of the page) Click on an individual component in a cluster. Now, in the field in the middle of the page, you see a list of all the standards that are associated with this specific cluster/component. Click on a standard (in the middle of the page, last column on the right) and you see all the other clusters/components that are covered by this particular standard (if there are any). Here you also find links to use cases, where available.
    • Standard number (right hand side of the page) If you know the standard number you need, select it from the list. IEC Standards are listed first, all the others are in alphabetical order. Click on the standard once you find it in the list and you will see all the other parts of the grid where it applies. If you want to buy that standard you are directly rerouted to the corresponding site, for example the IEC Webstore.


Facebook Comments



VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
IEC Smart Grid Standards Mapping Tool, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating